AllAll news

New EARMA Chair and Board members elected

New EARMA Chair and Board members elected

On Monday April 24, during the annual General Assembly in Prague, Czech Republic, Dipti Pandya was elected as the new Chair of the European Association of Research Managers and Administrators (EARMA). Dipti has previously served as a Board member of the Association since 2022 and has been the Chair of the EARMA Policy and Representation Committee. 

Dipti is a member of the University College Dublin (UCD) Research and Innovation Senior Management Team with primary responsibility for managing the UCD pre-award funded research services including pipeline/lead development, supporting preparation and submissions.

In her application for the position of Chair, Dipti wrote: “My perspectives of research management are directly informed from my significant leadership experience in every aspect of the research lifecycle. I was the Director of the Irish Research Council leading national SSH funding programmes and Ireland’s participation in FP7 and H2020 as National Delegate and National Contact Point.

“Since 2015, I have led the pre-award research funding team at University College Dublin. My team and I have contributed significantly to the creation of a supportive environment for our research community. Indeed, the superlative moments at work are when members of my team are recognised and valued by our researchers.”

In Dipti’s speech to those gathered for the General Assembly in Prague, she spoke of the momentum currently being experienced by the research management community in Europe and her plans to build on this momentum in her new role as EARMA Chair.

Also elected on April 24 were three Board members and one substitute Board member. Eleonora Zuolo of the Sorbonne Université, France, Harald Hasler-Sheetal of the University of Southern Denmark, Denmark, John Donovan of the Technological University Dublin, Ireland, were elected as Board members with Edwin Kanters of the Universiteit Utrecht, Netherlands, elected as a substitute Board member.

We wish the new Chair and Board members every success in their duties as they serve the interests of the entire RMA community in Europe. They will take up their roles in autumn 2023.